Primus Shop


The southern part of the Austrian province of Styria is called Südsteiermark (South Styria). In the 1919 Paris Peace Negotiations, the region was divided between Austria and Slovenia, with the part lying within Slovenian territory called Untersteiermark (Lower Styria). South Styria is separated from Central Styria to the north by a line through the towns of Deutschlandsberg, Wildon, and Bad Gleichenberg. To the west and east of the river Mur lie Southwest and Southeast Styria. About one percent of all Austrian wines come from South Styria. The in part extremely steep vineyards – many with a grade of more than 26 percent – are scattered in small plots among the picturesque hills and mountains of the region, and are quite labor-intensive to cultivate